Deep Thoughts from Annalee & a Subsequent Science Experiment

Anna just came up to me and very dramatically said…

Alex just got hurt and cut his lip, and I knew if I picked him up he’d get blood on me… but sometimes you have to make sacrifices if you want to keep your family happy.

My wise and noble 8 year-old!

She’s using hydrogen peroxide on the blood now to bubble the stain out.   Does that count as science for the day?  😉  I suppose it would if I googled the reason it works….

Science Extension!

I didn’t find the reason yet, but I found a great science experiment where you use hydrogen peroxide to test stains made by things like tomato sauce, red food coloring and blood (from meat, but we don’t have any in the house so I suppose we’ll have to wait for the next injury! Laughing ).  It explains why hydrogen peroxide bubbles when it comes in contact with the blood (the enzyme catalase breaks it down to oxygen and water) and goes into lots more about forensic tests and investigations.

Okay, add one more thing to the to-do list for the day!

Leave a Reply

