Burns' Night

I still haven’t posted about our celebration of Burns’ Night last week and Daryl keeps reminding me. Burns’ Night is a family tradition of ours and especially sentimental for Daryl, who has a good friend in Scotland (who is even related to old Rabbie himself).

In case you’re not familiar with the holiday, it’s a celebration of Scottish poet Robert Burns, best known for writing “Auld Lang Syne.”

Around here, the day is spent in Scottish dress with Scottish food, Scottish coloring pages, Scottish poems, Scottish history lessons and lots about haggis (including an emphatic and hysterical reading of “Ode to a Haggis” — I’m not making that up!).

If you don’t know what haggis is, don’t ask. Trust me on this one. 😉

It is a fun day, punctuated with lots of silliness and talking in Scottish brogue. Mostly it’s Daryl talking in brogue and all of us looking at him funny, but we secretly enjoy it.

So now, finally, here’s some pics of our family celebrating. Yes, I’m conspicuously absent and was not dressed the part at all (despite the fact that I am partly Scottish). Daryl is still working on that. Maybe next year!

Haggis, neeps and taddies (rutebegas and potatoes). (This is the part where Daryl emails me and tells me I spelled at least 8 of those words wrong.) Doesn’t Victoria look thrilled?!

Posing nicely.

The real brood. 🙂

AULD LANG SYNE

By Robert Burns

Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
And never brought to mind?
Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
And auld lang syne?

CHORUS:
For auld lang syne, my jo,
For auld lang syne,
We’ll tak a cup o’ kindness yet,
For auld lang syne.

 

And surely ye’ll be your pint-stowp!
And surely I’ll be mine!
And we’ll tak a cup o’ kindness yet,
For auld lang syne.

 

CHORUS

 

We twa hae run about the braes,
And pu’d the gowans fine;
But we’ve wander’d mony a weary foot,
Sin auld lang syne.

 

CHORUS

 

We twa hae paidl’d i’ the burn,
Frae morning sun till dine;
But seas between us braid hae roar’d
Sin auld lang syne.

 

CHORUS

 

And there’s a hand, my trusty fiere !
And gie’s a hand o’ thine !
And we’ll tak a right gude-willy waught,
For auld lang syne.

 

CHORUS

Okay, next year I’ll join in. 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Burns' Night

  1. I love it!

    Where’d you get your costumes?

    And… canned haggis? I’m a little nervous about trying the real (i.e. fresh) thing (though I would), but canned? I don’t think so. What did everybody think of it?

    And I love the juxtaposition of the “nicely posed” and “real family” pictures. 😀

    Like

  2. Great pics, Alicia–I have got to track done a copy of _Hamish the Hairy Haggis_ for my friend Sam, part of the Paterson clan. She’s the one who had the twin girls on Daegan’s birthday last year; I am sure she would get a kick out of it! 🙂

    And where/how did Daryl meet his friend (Patty?) who lives in Scotland?

    Like

Leave a Reply

