Pancakes, Face Painting, Sledding & Feasts

Today is Mardi Gras, also known as Fat Tuesday, also known as Shrove Tuesday, also known as Pancake Day.  And it’s our sledding party out of town.

I’ve been racing around trying to find one of the 85 assorted sizes of snowpants that our family owns.  I have been unable to find a single pair between the sizes of 2T (I have 5) and adult.  Enter my fabulous mother-in-law, who has volunteered to drive over to meet us (it’s near their town) with some of her snowpants in kid sizes.

My MIL rocks!  She is so flat out fabulous.

So now I’m racing around getting everybody the rest of the way dressed, printing out Shrove Tuesday information that Daryl wanted, grabbing face paint (did I mention it’s a Mardi Gras sledding party?) and secretly wishing I could go back to bed.  😉

Did you know that Mardi Gras originated because it’s the day before Ash Wednesday and people needed to use up the foods they’d be giving up for lent?  They traditionally gave up foods like meat, milk and fatty foods and a feast was held the day before so nothing would be wasted.  Pancake Day started because pancakes incorporated lots of the foods that would be traditionally given up (eggs, milk and fats).

So that’s that.  Pancakes for supper!  It’s homeschool.  😉

Or if you want to do Cajun food for supper, here’s a whole page of mouth watering recipes.   Here’s a little about the day from an Irish perspective.

I’m bringing a page of Shrove Tuesday info to read with the kids on the drive and we’ll do some fun, easy Mardi Gras stuff when we get home tonight.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go draw on my children’s faces.  🙂

Happy Tuesday!

One thought on “Pancakes, Face Painting, Sledding & Feasts

Leave a Reply

