Fat Tuesday in Pictures (Part One)

So much for sleep.  I went to bed at 1:05 and at 1:20 Alex spiked a fever and pretty much kept me up for the rest of the night.  He has a runny nose and seems to feel rather rotten, but the fever is gone today and he seems better.  I feel a bit like a truck rolled over me several times, but Daryl has taken the whole brood of kids to Windom to run errands so I’m not about to grumble.

Here’s some pictures from our excursion yesterday.  It really was a fun day!  This is part one, the sledding/Mardi Gras HS party….

Sledding

About halfway down I realized this might not have been such a bright idea with a one year-old!  We went flying down that hill and it was steeper than it looked!  🙂

 

We ended up waaaaaaay down there and Alex thought it was the most fun ever.

After that I decided pulling him around on the sled was good too!

Who needs snow?  Jack went down the grassy part of the hill even after the sun had melted most of the snow off.

The poor little guy would fly down the hill and ended up farther than most anybody else.   He’s the speck at the bottom of the hill.

Then he would lie there on his back for at least a minute, sometimes with his feet straight up in the air, sometimes calling “Mom!  Mom!  Mom!” until he gathered his strength and righted himself again!

 

Pancake racing

They had to flip as they ran!

Then they ran back as fast as they could and handed them off to the next kid

Moms yapping by the tailgates, where we had a hot dog cooker and treats galore

My fabulous friend Lonni, dreamer-upper of the party, with one of her fabulous daughters in Mardi Gras gear

We got to see old friends, made some new friends, ate good food, had a blast and enjoyed a rare warm winter day.  The kids ended up so drenched we stopped at a thrift store to get them new outfits for the second half of the day (coming soon!).

As much as I said I’d rather stay in bed, it was a lovely day, migraine and all.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Fat Tuesday in Pictures (Part One)

  1. That looked like a lot of fun…I’ve got Pancake day (and races) marked on my calendar for next year. Can’t believe how little snow you have left!

    Like

  2. Alicia, I don’t know *how* you do even one thing with a migraine, let alone all that you do! Even a half strength migraine will typically keep me from going out of the house.

    By the way, I love to security words that you’ve chosen for comment spam proofing your blog! They always bring a smile to my face. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

