Starting the Day With Hate Mail

Well, I spent most of the night coughing up my lungs and then the first email I opened when I started the day was a comment on my Magical Childhood blog yelling at me.

It seems that some preschool worker took offense at my “What Should a Four Year Old Know” article where I said kids need time with their parents more than fancy preschools.  I suggested ridiculous things like reading to our children and playing rather than flash cards and blinking toys.  What a scandal.

The final straw was when she said that parents think that we’re experts on children just because we’re parents.

Yeah, that’s right.  We’re just the stupid parents.  What makes us think that we could do an adequate job of educating our four year olds ourselves?

Here’s my answer to her.  I’m afraid I got a little uppity.  I was annoyed.  😉

Now I have a little boy to go play with.  He and I are going to have a coughing competition and then perhaps get nice and muddy even though we should be inside resting.  We’ve rested enough and it’s a lovely day out there.

Happy Friday!

4 thoughts on “Starting the Day With Hate Mail

  1. Alicia!
    Nicely written response! I agree with you whole-heartedly! Don’t let them get you down! I have to tell you that you have a great ability to articulate your ideas and thoughts, I’ve always admired you for that. I enjoy your posts and your thoughts on the mlhs group. Have a great weekend, don’t think about anonymous again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

