At Least it's Over

You know how some days are so perfect that you want to store them and keep them to remember always?

Well, today was not one of those days.

A few highlights…

  • Daryl and I both woke up with bad headaches, body aches and general how-did-we-get-so-old achiness.
  • Daryl let the stray cat onto the back porch because he felt sorry for her in the snow and then Anna let our big old male into the basement, at which time both cats erupted in a ten minute cat fight that covered two floors and lasted through my cussing, throwing water on them and chasing them with a broom.
  • Said broom-whacking ended up knocking into the back of the basement toilet, causing a plastic tube to break and water to start spraying all over the basement.
  • Jack announced in the middle of dinner, “Mom, I hate you!”.
  • Alex and Jack broke 3 ornaments by throwing things at the Christmas tree.  Note:  the tree had been decorated for approximately 12 minutes.
  • When I went to escape to a hot bath, I discovered that a cat had thrown up in the bathtub.

Of course there were good times too, but by the end of the night I had cracked open our only bottle of wine and drank a glass and a half while watching the series finale of Monk.

I am a terrible wine drinker (I secretly prefer the $2 Boone’s Farm stuff) and grimaced at every sip.  I could never get plastered on wine… which is probably a good thing, since I’m quite an embarrassing drunk!

Tomorrow is a brand new day.  I think that’s supposed to be a good thing, but for now I’m just glad that 50% of my children are asleep and it’s NOT tomorrow yet to start all over again.  😉

5 thoughts on “At Least it's Over

  1. oh i hate to say it but i am always so glad to hear that other people have those sort of days too. misery truly does love company, i guess, LOL!

    glad your crappy day is over, though! and i totally know about the wine…my mother-in-law bought me some about a month ago and i rediscovered the joy of alcohol, LOL! i’m a lightweight too, though, so i never drink more than 1 glass…but i totally get how kids can lead parents to drink some days!! LOL!!

    anyway, just nice to know i’m not the only one that is going through crappy days complete with cat vomit, LOL!
    .-= Tina´s last blog ..proud mama =-.

    Like

  2. Yes, today will be a much better day!! That would have been enough to drive me to drink….and more than one glass haha. I love the cheap wine or the white/pink/blush wines (whatever you call them!). I’m no wine connoisseur but I can drink my fair share (as long as it’s not a red wine!).

    Like

  3. Did you ever post the details of your hydrogen
    peroxide experiment because we’d love to try it.
    But only when you have a spare moment. Sounds
    like extra work is not what you need after your day today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

