Gratitude, Part two

To continue with yesterday’s gratitude post, here’s 10 new things I’m grateful for and the promised holiday pic.

1.  That my little guy is sleeping somewhat peacefully, despite being sick and feverish and having an all-around tough day.

2.  For getting to play and review the HS-family-created Bailout! board game today.

3.  For getting to play math games on the bed with my 11 y/o and 2 y/o in the middle of the day to finally remember those pesky 7 facts and having all of us laughing like crazy.

4.  For fresh baked Snickerdoodles.

5.  For the freedom to homeschool.

6.  For family friends who are coming down to see the kids because they miss them (and us!).

7.  For having so many children’s books that I keep giving boxes of them away on Freecycle (and still having too many for our many bookshelves).

8.  For the internet.

9.  For still having a freezer full of goodies like red and green pepper strips and sliced apples from the farmers’ market and bountiful trees last fall.

10. For online HS blogs and friends who inspire me, make me think and make me smile.

This was not the winning holiday card photo, but it makes me smile because it reflects the kids so well.

But not as much as this one.  😉

3 thoughts on “Gratitude, Part two

  1. I love the photo! I have a few like that! I love them.

    Please email me in regards to the recipe. I would love to know what your kids do and do not like before I suggest a recipe. 😉

    Like

  2. Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookies

    yield: 4 dozen

    1 cup butter, softened ( I used Earth Balance)
    1 cup sugar
    1 cup packed brown sugar
    Flax seed for 2 eggs
    1 teaspoon vanilla
    1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
    1 teaspoon baking soda
    1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
    1/2 teaspoon baking powder
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    3 cups quick-cooking oatmeal

    1. Cream together butter and sugars, until light and fluffy.Beat in flax & vanilla. Combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, baking powder and salt in a small bowl; gradually add to the creamed mixture. Mix well. Stir in oats.

    2. Shape into 1-1/2 in balls. Place 2 in. apart on ungreased cookie sheets. Bake @ 350º for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. Cool for 1 minute before removing to wire racks.

    I got this recipe from Taste of Home Magazine. I just tweeked it to fit my crew.

    Happy Baking!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

