My Review of the "Wright on Time" Homeschool Book One

I reviewed the first book in the “Wright on Time” series at the Examiner today.  You can read it here.

I listed pros and cons, which was hard for me to do since I like the author and want the series to succeed  — and because I read the dozens of reviews other bloggers posted who received review copies and every single one is fantastically positive. I felt like a twit in comparison.

That said, I am just honest to a fault and can’t see much use in a critique that’s not 100% authentic.

I still recommend the series, more so because I can do it with my honest opinion.    Check it out and see what you think.  🙂

5 thoughts on “My Review of the "Wright on Time" Homeschool Book One

  1. Yes, the author sent me book 2 as well and when we read it I’ll post a review. I do want to reiterate that I do like the books and absolutely recommend them. I just had to be absolutely honest about the good and the bad.

    The good still far outweighs my small criticisms and I think HS kids especially will really like the series. These are likeable characters to introduce our kids to and the kids will learn all different neat things through the series.

    My major in college was English (concentration in creative writing) and I’ve been a writer for decades, so I’m sure I’m far pickier than most. 🙂 In writing classes and workshops you learn that criticism is helpful and empty praise is worthless.

    I really like the author (I’ve heard rumors that she’s vegan and she’s apparently an unschooler, not to mention just seeming like a genuinely nice person) so I didn’t want to say anything negative, but my first responsibilities are to you guys who are looking for an honest opinion and to being completely true to myself. I wrote her privately and told her that, and she said she appreciated it. I would have negative things to say about lots of other books too, but when the norm seems to be nothing but glowing praise, it makes any criticisms seem like I don’t like the book. I do like it. I just think it could be improved (as could many others!).

    I’m curious about book 2 and will absolutely report back. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Alicia,
    We have our copy to read and review, have had it since Thanksgiving, and have been unable to even open it because of our busy schedule!
    I am looking forward to the early new year, when life is a little calmer, and we can sit down and read this book together and give it the attention it deserves.
    Thanks for the review, I appreciate your honesty too 🙂
    Merry Christmas my friend!
    Karen
    .-= Karen´s last blog ..New England at Its Best =-.

    Like

Leave a Reply

