New Year Interviews with the Kids

I swiped this idea from Educating Risa because it seemed like such a neat one.  She says she asks the kids these questions each year and it’s a fun way to see how they change.  Here’s our big kids’ answers….

Jack

Favorites:

  • Cereal – Mallow Oats
  • vegetable – Carrots
  • drink – Pop
  • toy – Gorilla Mountain
  • TV Show – Sponge Bob
  • game – Super Mario Bros. 3
  • book – Quick as a Cricket
  • restaurant – Old Country Buffet
  • holiday – Christmas and Halloween
  • animal – Crocodile (“Yeah, because my favorite color is green and I’m actually kinda mean sometimes, so crocodile.”

If you could change your name, what would you choose?

John, totally.

What do you love about each person in our family?

I love you because you always are there for me.  I love Anna because she’s always helping me.  I love Alex because he’s the best brother I’d ask for.  I love Victoria cuz she lets me play her toys.  Dad because he reads me books and he plays with me when everyone else isn’t awake.

Where would you like to go on vacation this year?

Um, I’ve never been to the North Pole, so probably the North Pole.

What are some of your wishes for this year?

I wish that we’d all have a good year.  I wish my birthday was every day.

What would you like to do for work when you grow up?

Probably be a space man.


Anna:

Favorites:

  • Cereal – Lucky Charms
  • vegetable – Potato
  • drink – Decaf coffee
  • toy – “Does makeup count as a toy?  Do books?  A camera?  Okay, I’m running out of options…”
  • TV Show – iCarly
  • game –Monopoly Deal
  • book – Harry Potter 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
  • restaurant – El Taco
  • holiday – My birthday
  • animal – Horse & penguin

If you could change your name, what would you choose? 

Katherine/Kat/Katie

What do you love about each person in our family?

Victoria is spunky, Jack is playfully crazy, Alex is sweet, Dad is just plain nice and you’re a super mom.

Where would you like to go on vacation this year?

There are a lot of places I always wanted to go, like North Carolina and Maine again.  I also want to go to California and then Arizona and Iowa to the ice cream capitol and I’d also like to go to Michigan again.  Ooh, wait, one more!  I also want to go to Wisconsin again.

What are some of your wishes for this year?

I wish to suddenly find $10 million on the ground.  I also want a truckload of nail polish and a lot of makeup.  Plus a life supply of decaf coffee — with cream and sugar.

What would you like to do for work when you grow up?

Be a singer/actress/author and I also want to be a movie director and star and in a band.

Victoria:

Favorites:

  • Cereal – Honey Grahams
  • vegetable – Snap peas
  • drink – Pepsi or ice water or egg nog
  • toy – The big “Littlest Pet Shop” things (of other people’s)
  • TV Show – Glee
  • game – Super Mario Bros. 3 (“Be sure you write that it’s on an 8-bit screen on the first kind of Nintendo ever made.”)
  • book – “That’s so hard!  Twilight, Harry Potter and The Mysterious Benedict Society… and Sabriel.”
  • restaurant – Olive Garden
  • holiday – Solstice
  • animal – Tiger and chicken

If you could change your name, what would you choose?

I kind of always wanted to be named Katie/Katherine/Kat and Lily.

What do you love about each person in our family?

Alex is so cute.  Dad’s funny.  I love that Jack always tries to get us to come to his shop and doesn’t even care if he earns money.  I love that Anna’s so good at doing makeup and fingernails and things.  I love that you’re a good cook.

Where would you like to go on vacation this year?

Florida.  Wait, no, maybe not.  Florida has a lot of crime.  A small town in Florida, on the beach.

What are some of your wishes for this year?

I wish to have a computer that works.  I wish I could go stay with Jessie again, like our whole family.  And world peace.  Forever.  Not just like for one day.

What would you like to do for work when you grow up?

I’d like to be a children’s doctor or a children’s book illustrator.

9 thoughts on “New Year Interviews with the Kids

  1. Those are awesome. I think I’ll do that with the kids tomorrow 🙂

    I had to laugh at Anna’s answers to the favorite toy question. And I love that Sabriel made Victoria’s list of favorite books!

    Happy New Year!

    Like

  2. Oh, the Katherine/Katie/Kat thing is because they know that Victoria was going to be named Katherine Lee (Katie or Kat for short) but at last minute I decided I didn’t like the name Katherine even though I liked the nicknames and I named her Victoria Vivian instead (Vivian is my middle name and my grandmother’s, Lee is my mother’s middle name and Anna got that one instead).

    Victoria likes her full name but hates the nicknames (so do I!) so she’s told me she would have liked my original pick. 🙂 Anna just happens to agree!

    Anna is really named Rhiannon Lee. We call her Anna and Annalee for short. Daryl picked her name and she’s named after a Welsh goddess and/or Fleetwood Mac song. And Jack is really named Jonathon so he is perfectly able to go by Jon. He’s named after my dad (who’s real name was John and was called Jack, kinda like JFK).

    There’s WAY more than anybody cared to know about my kids’ names!

    Like

  3. Oh my gosh, what a great idea and what fun to read your kids picks. I wish I had thought to do this all along with my kids. Just thinking back thru their childhoods at how their answers would have changed from year to year (er, day to day!). Gonna make this a new tradition. Thanks for sharing these!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Sprouts Homeschool » » New Year Interview with Doo

Leave a Reply

