Math Emails

I mentioned the other day that I send math emails to my girls and to Tiffany’s daughter Jessie, and offered to post some if anybody was interested.  Risa said she was, so I’m putting some up here to give you an idea of what they’re like.  Jessie in particular sends me emails often that say “Send more math!” and these were ones I sent her.  Gotta love unschooled kids (especially ones who swore they hated math).  🙂

Here’s from a couple of years ago.  (Note: They were in all color and very bright, but some of the colors got lost in the cutting and pasting.  I think kids like anything better when it’s day-glow!)

Okay, here’s some math!

7+2+1=

8+2+4=

5+5+5=

12-6=

14-7=

10-6=

If there are 4 quarters in $1, then how many quarters are in $2?

Do you know how many quarters would be in $10 then?

What about dimes?  If a dime is 10 cents, how many are in $1?

How many are in $2?

Last question!  If it’s 250 miles from my house to your house, and I drive about 50 miles in an hour, how many hours will it take for me to get there?????  🙂  (Hint: you can take the zeros off the end to make the math easier!)

Here’s another, from more recently….

Okay, here’s some more then.  Write me if you need help or hints on any!

1.  84+12=

2.  84-12=

3.  6×3=

4.  12×10=

5.  If I read 3 chapters a day and my book is 15 chapters long, how long will it take to finish my book?

6.  If I want to buy a $1 chocolate bar and I get a 10% discount for being so fabulous, how much will the chocolate bar cost?  🙂  (Hint: 10% is the same as 1/10)

7.  If a stamp costs 42 cents and I want to mail 3 letters, how much will it cost me?

8.  EXTRA CREDIT!

If each letter of the alphabet is worth points like this– a=1, b=2, c=3 and so on, all the way to z=26, then how much would your name be worth?  Who in your family would get the most points?  Would Rex or Jack be worth more points?  Jack is more letters, but Rex has letters that are worth a lot like x!

Here’s an example of how I reply (my comments are in blue)…

Okay, try again on this one…

1.  84+12= 96

2.  84-12=72?  Yep!  Great job!

3.  6×3=18  Woo hoo!  Fantastic

4.  12×10=120  No fooling you!  Yep

5.  If I read 3 chapters a day and my book is 15 chapters long, how long will it take to finish my book? 5 days?  Absolutely right!

6.  If I want to buy a $1 chocolate bar and I get a 10% discount for being so fabulous, how much will the chocolate bar cost?  🙂  (Hint: 10% is the same as 1/10)  .50 cents? Whoops!  Try that one again.  10% (ten percent) off means you take away 10/100ths (remember 100% is all of something) or 1/10.  What’s 1/10 of 100?  Now take that much off $1.00 to figure out how much you pay.  This is an important one to learn so you can shop a lot!  🙂

7.  If a stamp costs 42 cents and I want to mail 3 letters, how much will it cost me? 1.26  Wow!  Great job!

And one last one:

Here’s a few more….

1.  100 – 18=

2.  6 x 6 =

3.  If I have 2 quarters, 1 dime, 3 nickles and 4 pennies, how much money do I have?

4.  If there are 52 weeks in a year and I eat 2 chocolate bars every week, how many chocolate bars will I eat over one year?

5.  Three fairies come and visit me.  They each give me 3 magic boxes full of fairy dust.  When they leave, one of them accidentally breaks one of the boxes.  How many magic boxes do I still have?

6.  If there are 365 days in most years (other than leap years), about how old are you on your 10th birthday?

After you’re all done, tell your mother Alicia says to give you some chocolate.  🙂

Bye cutie!

And my answer:

You got every single one right!  Way to go!  Tell your mother I say you MUST get some chocolate now!  🙂

2 thoughts on “Math Emails

Leave a Reply

