Apologies…

I am a terrible blogger lately. I am also a terrible house cleaner, homeschooler, bedtime book reader, writer and general person.

I mostly hold my belly and groan.

Hopefully I’ll be done with my progesterone soon and perhaps that will help.  Next week I have my first prenatal appointment (the doctor won’t see me until I’m done with the first trimester) and if all looks good I should be able to stop the supplements.  Actually, if it’s all bad then I’d be able to stop the supplements too, so either way I should be done with those soon!

I’m trying so hard to do good mama things.  I’m just so sick and so tired and so weak, I’m not that good at it!  🙂

Here’s some writing elsewhere to make up for my quiet here…

Easy ways to give kids the gift of good handwriting

Sure, you could have your kids do endless copywork and penmanship lessons, but for many kids that’s about as fun as watching paint dry.  Luckily for parents, there are lots of sneaky ways to improve their handwriting that they’ll…

Free lapbook and lesson plans to teach children about Japan

In the wake of the tragedy in Japan last week, many families are focused on the country.  If you’d like to do a unit study on Japan, here are some great resources around the web.  Lapbook Lessons has a wonderful free lapbook on the country with…

Happy Saint Urho Day!

Sure, much of the world will be celebrating St. Patrick’s Day tomorrow, but how about joining in with the Minnesota-born Finnish-American festivities of St. Urho Day today?  St. Urho is a mythical Finnish hero who was created by imaginative…

Review: iHomeEducator’s Wonders of Old Ancient Timeline app

iHomeEducator has teamed up with Knowledge Quest to present Wonders of Old: Ancient Timeline, a unique educational app that uses photos, links and facts to create a new kind of timeline…

Researchers find that attached babies grow up to be better partners

A new University of Minnesota study shows that attachment parenting doesn’t just help children in the short term, but also helps them in their romantic relationships when they are grown up.  Researchers found that young adults who had been…

12 Great sources of natural mulch for your vegetable gardens

Do you mulch your vegetable gardens?  If you don’t, you should.  The right mulch helps retain moisture, prevents weeds from getting a foothold and even enriches the soil as it breaks down.  Here’s 12 great sources of natural mulch …

Anti-GMO groups call for boycott of Land O’Lakes for secret GM seed company

Minnesota-based dairy giant Land O’Lakes has quietly created a company to team up with Monsanto and produce genetically modified alfalfa, leading sustainable farming advocates and anti-GMO organizations around the country to call for a boycott…

Review: Thugs, Drugs and the War on Bugs

Every once in a while, you come across a book that makes you question everything you thought you knew…

Sixteen ways to save money on organic foods

Yes, organic foods do often come with a higher price tag.  The more you’re willing to work and be creative, the lower that price can get.  Use these strategies and you can eat delicious organic meals at less than your neighbors spend on drive-through…
Goals for tomorrow:
  • Get outside and puddle stomp with the kids.
  • Do a fun craft.
  • Order neat sounding books through interlibrary loan for Daryl to pick up, so I can still read buckets of books to the kids.
  • More laundry
  • Finally remember to get the beans soaking in the morning so we can have Mexican for supper (I may be unable to stand up, but I’m still going to make refried organic black beans from scratch for our burritos!) .  😉
  • More writing.
  • Brainstorm creative HS assignments and projects to throw at the kids.
  • Serve some green things!
  • Be gentle with myself, no matter how much I get done.
  • If all else fails, lots of snuggling.

Wish me luck!

6 thoughts on “Apologies…

  1. Wow! Big news. Hope you are feeling better soon. Sounds difficult. Don’t worry about those of us in blogland – take care of yourself and your family.

    Hugs from Cyberspace.

    Like

  2. Ditto on the “take care of you and your family”. 🙂 You guys always do sooo much in the way of interesting fun things, every season of the year, more than anyone I know, so you should NOT be kicking yourself for needing a break. Anyway, I’m trying hard to imagine your kids just gathering dust on a shelf in some corner doing nothing but waiting for you to feed them some knowledge…but I just can’t do it. LOL! My bet is they’re still curious and finding things to read and write and make and do. 🙂 Maybe the big important lesson right now is imparting the rightness of making you and your body’s needs a priority. You are not a terrible ANYTHING! More like an “Awesome Something”! 🙂

    Like

  3. Yes, you *might* be off your homeschooling and parenting games for the next year. Big whoop! You are growing them a sibling that they’ll learn alongside for the rest of their lives!

    Grab the very biggest scissors you have, and cut yourself some slack! Maybe even out of construction paper or posterboard, and keep it where you can see it when you are feeling needlessly guilty!!!

    Be well!

    Like

  4. I know how you feel! Thing is, even when you let some things slide….LIFE GOES ON! Be positive! When I got sick I thought I would never be able to continue doing all the things I do, but I have. Maybe not as often as before, but it all still works. My girls are still learning even though we don’t school the way we did before I got sick. Changes happen for reasons and I am happy with how things are going. Hang in there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

