Lots of Nifties and One Book to Make You Think

Here’s all sorts of cool things online that have caught my eye lately…

I’m reading a book right now called “Radical Homemakers” and it’s led to some great conversations with the kids. I’m really enjoying it and the ideas the author throws out about how our homes and family goals have changed in modern times.  She points out that homes used to be about production (we raised animals, grew crops, made clothes, etc.) and now they’re about consumption (we buy food, clothes and services), and how we are now slaves to unsatisfying jobs in order to afford all of the things we used to happily produce ourselves.

I really agree with so much of what the author says, and it resonates with how we try to live.  While we’re not exactly raising goats and weaving our own cloth, we live on a fraction of what most American families supposedly need in order to get by — and I think we live pretty well.  I know that a big part of that is because we do run our home like it’s about production and not consumption.  We grow some of our own food and preserve tons that we acquire in other ways at harvest seasons.  We buy used and make do without.  We make our own meals, mow our own lawn, watch our own kids, paint our own walls, and so on.

I’d love to hear what other homeschoolers think of the book.  I got it from the library and am not even 1/3 of the way in, but I like the way it makes me think.  🙂

3 thoughts on “Lots of Nifties and One Book to Make You Think

  1. Thanks for the links. We signed up again for the bird count. So excited! I am intrigued by the National HS Book Award. I will need to check it out. I have wanted to read Radical Homemakers for quite some time now. When it was first published, my library didn’t carry it. With your reminder, I checked and put a hold on it. Cannot wait to discuss it.

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed Radical Homemakers, too! I like the idea of using creativity and resourcefulness to truly make a home, instead of just being the Purchasing Manager for my family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

