Life Here Lately

Life has been busy here lately! Here’s a bit of how we’ve been learning and playing…

  • Playing element bingo (Anna won the prize — wacky glasses!)
  • Visiting the railroad museum
  • Getting Victoria back from visiting friends in the Cities
  • Experimenting with our new telegraph machine
  • Gardening
  • Hanging out with fun friends
  • Finishing testing for the year
  • Doing tons of art
  • Learning about currents, conductors, etc.
  • Finding four leaf clovers
  • Losing teeth
  • Taking pictures
  • Reading “Mr. Popper’s Penguins”
  • Bike riding, swimming, scootering and climbing trees
  • Rehearsing for the play and the Irish dance scenes
  • Memorizing elements
  • Baking bread
  • Planting flowers
  • Calling friends
  • Watching campfires
  • Bird watching
  • Playing with LEGOs
  • Playing Wii
  • Going to the lake
  • Playing educational apps
  • Reading

We’ve started Friendly Chemistry and did the first experiment and activity today.  It was great fun.  We had 6 white substances (all edible) and the girls had to determine what they were by using their senses and then by seeing how they each reacted with water, vinegar and iodine.

Do you know how to tell the difference between baking soda, corn starch and baking powder with nothing but vinegar and iodine?  I didn’t!  I don’t know if I should admit that, but one of the nice things about homeschooling is that I get to learn things along with the kids that my schools didn’t teach me the first time around!

I’ve also finally begun writing my Magical Childhood book, and have 98 pages done so far.  I’m quite happy and keep pushing myself even on the days I really don’t feel like writing.

This next week will be busy with our CSA starting up, play practice continuing each weeknight, our chemistry classes continuing and some baking and cooking.  I’ve been moving towards cooking most of our staples myself (or helping the kids do it).

Foods to make on this week’s list (involving a child in each one, if possible):

  1. Sandwich bread
  2. Whole wheat buns
  3. Rhubarb iced tea
  4. Rhubarb jelly
  5. Apple jelly
  6. Mix and match quick bread
  7. Mayonnaise
  8. Mix and match granola bars
  9. Ranch dressing
  10. Grape juice kefir (with grape juice from grapes we picked and canned ourselves!)

I was brought up so far from this life and these skills that I love knowing how to do them now — and being able to teach them to my kids.  It also saves buckets of money, especially since we make organic goodies in most cases.

We’ll also be making most of our supper elements from scratch (refried black beans from dried beans, homemade alfredo sauce, etc.) and I was going to try homemade tortillas again but it turns out I have some in the fridge to use this week so I get a week off before I attempt those again.  🙂

Do you make any of your own food staples?  If you have any favorite recipes or tips, please share them!

 

3 thoughts on “Life Here Lately

  1. Ha! The 13 yr old just finished making a loaf of oatmeal bread by himself (in the breadmaker) and helped me make a big pan of cornbread and we took a break so he can do some math and I could check in on some blogs. Aaaand I see this about teaching the kids to cook. Ha!!
    I agree! He is high functioning autistic and loves the precision of a recipe and measuring. But because he can be forgetful etc I prefer to teach him how to cook in the microwave and with the breadmaker, etc.
    My most recent tip is spreadable butter (1 stick + 1/3 c oil in a cold mixer). The rosemary bread (in the breadmaker) is awesome and yes I even took a few branches of rosemary from the giant bush in front of the goodwill because my plant is looking bare. What??

    Like

Leave a Reply

