Home Again, Home Again…

Oh, we’ve been busy again! Egads.  We have a few days off now and I’m so happy to be able to putter around the house, read books and play outside with my kiddos.

Here’s a bit of what we’ve been up to!

We took part in Civil War Days…

Daryl taught the telegraph to people, Jack and Anna taught old fashioned games, and the rest of us were dressed up for atmosphere.

Somehow I managed to avoid taking any pictures of myself, but I was dressed up this time too.  Our dresses were borrowed from the Wilder Pageant and I felt decidedly frumpy compared to some of the gowns on other reenactors, but quite a few little girls came up and complimented me on my dress so it must have done the trick!  I loved my hoop underneath!

Even Fiona dressed for the part!

They put us up in the historic Calumet Inn, which was absolutely delightful.  It’s over a hundred years old and full of ghost stories, period furniture and other whimsical extras.   The food at the Calumet restaurant is also incredibly good, should you ever find yourself in Pipestone, Minnesota, and in need of a bite to eat!

We went to a ball downtown, strolled the streets reading the history on the buildings, watched two epic Civil War battles and much more.

Jack and Daryl took part in a Flim Flam event. Flim flams were basically old time scams that came to town, full of people working hard to swindle you — gamblers, gypsies, fortune tellers, snake oil salesmen, etc.

This one was at the historic Hubbard House in Mankato.  Daryl played the part of J.D. Wyatt, riverboat gambler.  Jack was our pickpocket!  He even pretended to pull pocket watches from people’s pants and approached people with hands dangling with watches, saying “Hey mister, wanna buy a watch?”.  He’d take off running when a plant would shout, “Hey, that’s my watch!”.

Great fun!  (More pics to come, this is from the historic society’s Facebook page and I haven’t downloaded my own yet).

We went to Tiffany’s and looked after her kiddos while she was having her new baby!

Anna and Jessie went on a billion walks and picked up bags and bags of trash in the woods.  Jack and Jack hung out in the new tree fort and played games.  Daryl and Victoria went exploring and helped keep everything running, while the littles just happily played and I cooked meals and did my best to keep everybody happy and things relatively tidy.

Meet Miss Millie!  She was 6 pounds, 10 ounces, 3 weeks early and absolutely healthy and adorable.

We made a play kitchen on the side of the house with pallets and such.  We’ll add more as we go, but it’s great fun already and it’s stocked with fun stuff like old utensils, spice and parmesan shakers, dishes and so on.

Anna and Jack have been making plays and movies with their friend Logan. They tend towards scary movies.  The one they’re currently working on is entitled “The Doll” and involves a very creepy toy!  🙂

Here’s a scene from the end!

In other news….

Victoria is spending a week with friends in the Twin Cities.  Another friend is flying in and the family is taking them all to Duluth, which should be great fun.

Fiona is talking (she says Daa for Daddy and Ta-aa for Toria, plus perhaps a few more like dog), crawling, standing and growing up far too fast!

We’ve been busy with harvesting and putting food up.  We take care of an elderly neighbor’s apples from her apple trees for her, picking up the duds from the ground each day and taking home the good apples for sauce and crisps and such.  We also buy up canning (blemished) tomatoes from a local farm family and roast them for sauce, put up dozens of red peppers in frozen slices for cooking throughout the year and so on.

Here’s tomatoes and onions roasting for Daryl’s simple roasted tomato sauce, which is such a tasty way to take advantage of fresh, local tomatoes this time of year.

Anna finished reading “The Secret Garden” and has moved on to another historic book (I can’t remember which).  Victoria is still reading like crazy, and Jack has been happily checking out lots of library books too.

Alex is learning more sight words, and happily doing addition problems for fun.

I’ve been reading a mystery novel!  I can’t tell you the last time I read a fiction book, but it’s been quite a few years.  This one (“The Witness”) is massively long but I’m nearly to the end.  I’m really enjoying it!

That’s a bit of what we’ve been up to, and I’m tired of typing. 🙂  I’ll try to post some helpful and fun stuff soon and get back to regular blogging.  I miss it, though I have to figure out how to make time for everything I want to do in a day…

4 thoughts on “Home Again, Home Again…

  1. Pingback: » Back from the Civil War Magic and Mayhem

Leave a Reply

