Finding My Voice Again

I’m resolved to try to post close to every day for the rest of July. I really miss my voice, especially here where I have always felt comfortable really being myself.

It’s hard feeling pulled in so many directions.  I frequently feel like I’m failing at just about everything — homeschooling five kids, keeping up with housework, keeping a steady stream of healthy food coming in our tricky household (mostly natural, organic, gluten-free, dairy free, vegetarian, tasty and cheap for a family of seven????), my writing, my blogs, projects around the house, the gardens….

I’m firmly in a new stage of life right now, with two teenagers in the house plus the boys and little Fiona.  We’ve had to change a lot of how we homeschool and generally live because the kids just have such different needs and interests.  I’m grateful that there’s still so much we can all enjoy together, from heading to Dutch Charlie Creek to have a campfire at dusk to hanging out with fun homeschool families to tromping around the Badlands.  Daryl and the four “big” kids even all had fun watching Monster University together last night.  I’m glad we all find so many things we still love to do together, despite our family’s diversity.  🙂

Life is good here.  It’s hard to believe that only one year ago we were reeling from Victoria’s cancer diagnosis and surgeries, struggling to just keep putting one foot in front of the other and make it through the summer.  The kids are in good places.  We have lots of good things going on.  There are stresses, but they are everyday stresses like tires going bald and kids bickering.

I’m excited to get back to blogging regularly, to have my little corner of the world to sit and ramble.  Let’s see if I can stick to it!

5 thoughts on “Finding My Voice Again

  1. Glad to hear things are much better for you this year than last. I think the thing with larger families and homeschooling and all that other stuff that makes up life is that it is always going to feel like you’re dropping the ball somewhere. I tellmyself that so long as it isn’t the same ball that is always being dropped (and there are stages where there is no way around that either) then I’m doing okay. Looking forward to hearing more from you if you can manage it.

    Like

  2. Oh my gosh, I have felt like a failure so often in recent years trying to do it all and feeling like I can’t do any of it well. I’m trying hard to overcome that. We are moms. It’s hard work, we are stretched thin in many directions and I’m sure we are doing far better than we think we are. I also know the feeling of the kids getting older and the homeschooling changing. I am still trying to find my way in it all as our needs change and the final years loom closer. I’m glad you’ve had some positives this summer compared to last. Hang in there-you are a great momma to your kids and that is the most important success!

    Like

    • That’s funny, Jeanne, because you always seemed like you accomplished so much more than me on the HSing front! I need to remember that these are universal feelings and we all feel like this a lot of the time. Thanks for your sweet words. 🙂

      Like

  3. Ha – captcha word CHILL – appropriate 🙂

    I feel like that a lot even with one child. Too many things to do, too many directions, too many balls to juggle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

