Anna's rose lapbook

Here are pics of Anna’s finished lapbook.  I think it’s beautiful!  We learned a ton too.  She taught the family lots about roses and presented it to us this afternoon, too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1 thought on “Anna's rose lapbook

  1. Her lapbook looks great, Alicia, and it looks like she really enjoyed making it and learning about roses. I just finished helping Ellie (age 5 1/2) put together a lapbook, her first really. It was one I’d downloaded from CurrClick about honeybees and was the type where the little books are set up for you and you just add in the info as you learn it and then cut and put together. We read a few books about bees then put the book together. She seemed to enjoy it, and I’d like to do more lapbooking with her if she seems interested. But I’d love to hear how you go about it with your kids. I’ve always thought that lapbooking seemed like a great way to capture the learning a child does on a particular topic. Ben hates the idea of it, though – not into all the cutting and pasting. I thought Madeline would love it – she loves artsy, crafty stuff – but she doesn’t seem very interested, really. Ellie does, though. So how do you do this? Do your kids pick a topic at random or do you make suggestions? Do you just piece together books and such from things you find online? I’m not sure I like the really fabricated ones where the work is mostly done for the child and all they are doing is cutting and gluing in – doesn’t seem like much learning that way. But on the other hand, I’m a real perfectionist like you and it’ll be a major learning experience for me to let go and not direct the whole thing! Anyway, long enough here. Just would love to hear more about your process!

    Like

Leave a comment